Unspoken

I debate writing about this book since I didn’t finish it, but I don’t want to only talk about certain things so here I am.

Unspoken (The Lynburn Legacy, #1)Unspoken ,by Sarah Rees Brennan, is about a young lady who hears a voice in her head. Unlike most stories this isn’t a computer program nor is it God nor is she mental and it is her own head split into personalities. The voice is another young person that is her age and lives somewhere else.

She has known this kid since they were both children and both their parents thought it was simply an imaginary friend till it went on for too long. It later gets heavily into magic and creepy so I set it aside. I don’t always read all the way through any more sometimes I just need part of it, I got through a bit more than half. The humor is just my kind and it was easy to follow and I really enjoyed how she deals with having a voice that only she can hear.

This has been my life for so long that I really wanted to hear another perspective. I enjoy being an HSP, but it can be daunting to be so aware of another person’s feelings whether you want to or not. Touching is also a problem. It gives a greater view into the person that you are touching and it can be daunting. I don’t want to know that a guy is lusting or that a woman is breaking or that a family member feels utterly lost. Nor do I want to feel these feelings as my own. I just want to live my life and enjoy my feelings as my own.

Reading this book gave me comfort somehow. Not even sure myself on this but it did.

I talk to God a lot in the way that the main character, Kami, talks to her voice. In he middle of a conversation God will make a joke about something and I smile at just the wrong time ever. Never too bad, of course and I can easily cover, but it can get funny.

If you’re into magic this story may be for you but I do admit that it is a normal story that seems a bit like Nancy Drew until about halfway through, so be aware that your magic won’t come easily.

If you’re an HSP I’d say skip this one unless God says it’s cool. I felt very weepy after reading a lot in one go and even kind of depressed. NOT FUN. But that’s a warning, not a law. 🙂

