‘From Far Away’

Image result for from far awayKyoko Hikawa wrote a wonderful story here that is similar to Red River, if you have read this. I am not sure if I have written about this already but I have finished this work of art and wanted to review it’s stunning workmanship. I will try to leave out spoilers, but I would like to note that this particular story was finished in 2003.

The story is about a young lady who ends up in another world and has to relearn the language and customs through her hero a mysterious hunky warrior who is a bit rough on the edges but most obviously just trying to take care of her.

This is here side.

His side however is a lot more complex. She is actually a part of a prophesy that is part of a larger prophesy. She is a thing that will make the ‘Sky Demon’ come to life and the mysterious hunky warrior? He is that demon.

There is so much political intrigue, messed up egotistical megalomania going on that it is hard to see any goodness in this world. And that is kind of the point. A few people are really making everyone else’s life super hard.

The story itself is wonderful to read but also it had so many points that were downright… good. It talks so much about light and how we choose to do our small part and not just try to save the world. We can’t do it alone and we need help. We may do something so small and natural but to other people it is a major deal.

I cried several times.

I mean balling and weeping because it touched so many things from my past that I needed healing for.

I enjoyed the characters but my favorite character is actually Irk. He is so sweet and kind and I just enjoyed him popping up on so many occasions. Also the arc surrounding him was my favorite part of the story.
(For those who don’t know, an ARC is when a story has a sub-story that isn’t solved in one episode, but doesn’t always push the main plot forward.)

I have actually read much of this story before but had no idea as it has been sometime. I must not have finished it though and stopped somewhere around 6 or 7? The little pets is the one thing I remember.

This is a violent manga, but it is only 14 volumes. Not a whole lot of gore but still bloody. Worth a good week or 2 of reading. I would say weekend, but it is a bit intense and should be savored a bit more. Got them all from my library. 🙂

I thought the ending did well and I would enjoy reading it again. I kept a few of them still to take pictures of the parts that most touched my heart as I like to print them out and keep them as a reminder.

