Writing outlandish life histories

Why did Star Wars episodes 4,5, and 6 come before 1,2, and 3?
–Because in charge of planning, Yoda was.

Hahaha. Man, I enjoy puny, geeky jokes.

I once saw a book about a young woman who wrote ‘outlandish life histories’ because the past she had lived in was simply too much for her. I thought about it and realized that I do the same, but not out of a need to retreat from my own past or present life or even uncertain future, but because I just enjoy stories. I want to live out all kinds of quests and journeys so I make them up for myself.

Everything from the life on board a ship pretending to be a boy, what it would be to BE a boy, to be dating some favorite character. (This changes regularly, and I don’t often end up with them because my logic says no, so silly, my story you think it could go anywhere!)

I love talking to people and hearing their stories. Learning that someone I love has had two VERY different jobs in their lifetime after knowing them for 5 years? Priceless!

This is why I read too! I want to know all the possibilities out there. It is not only a good tool for problem solving but it also helps to get a broader view of life.

One day I hope to encourage my friends, my children and loved ones to dream a little outside of their comfort zones and for the sheer pleasure of this instead of just for the sake of accomplishing some goal. It’s a good thing to use an imagination and if more people would calm down and do it in love, maybe this life wouldn’t be so hard for all of us.

For those looking for a little encouragement, check out this book by LonelyPlanet:The Travel Book: A Journey Through Every Country in the World

There is a 2016 addition but I haven’t read that one. This one just has the greatest pictures that can fuel a mind for days. Maybe you always wanted to be a disciple of Jesus, or a courtier to one of the Elizabeth’s, or maybe a hermit on some Asian mountain, this book will help you see a lot of where you would be staying.

Best part? You are in your own mind so you always have indoor plumbing, a hot shower and you can eat anything without negative side effects.

